March Challenge: I’ll have a double water, please.

champs

Confession, I love wine, good beer and bourbon. Drinks on a patio with friends, drinks while cooking, drinks with dinner, after dinner drinks, etc. etc. The reason for my confession is because I have decided to challenge myself and give up all alcohol for the month of March. Cold turkey. Hmm, it’s been a while since I’ve had Wild Turkey, but I digress.

It’s not that I drink a lot at one time, but I’ve noticed that over the past few months I’ve been drinking almost daily. I started to feel the toll it was taking on me and knew I needed to do something. You know it’s time to do a reset when you can barely finish a glass of amazing wine because it feels like your body is rejecting it.

Always up for a challenge, I decided to see if I could go booze free for the month of March. This declaration has already been met by interesting comments and questions from friends and acquaintances.  Some favorites have been”how are you going to go on dates?,” “what will that mean for your social life?,” “what about St. Patrick’s Day?,” and the most popular comment, “I don’t understand.”

After hearing those and other comments, I’ve realized the central role that alcohol plays in the social scene for people in their twenties and thirties. So what started as a detox is becoming a social experiment of sorts. If I need to drink to get through a date, I probably shouldn’t be on that date. Friends won’t care if I’m drinking water or wine, because I’m fun sober or buzzed (if I wasn’t me, I would want to be my friend). St. Patrick’s Day is my least favorite day to drink, but one of my favorite for people watching. Most importantly, people don’t have to understand the choices I make in my life.

My first week has gone pretty well. I had a rough day earlier this week and wanted a glass of wine, but I grabbed a book instead. Let’s see how the rest of this month goes … cheers! (with water, of course)

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Challenge, March and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

