Music Monday: 50 Shades of Grey

IMG_4111

Photo by thelovelyday taken at The Daily Press

Monday, we meet again. I’m actually not mad at Monday this week because I had a great weekend and it’s going to be warmer in the Queen City today.

This weekend I was running around like a crazy person and loved every minute of it. While driving all over God’s creation this weekend (I’m being dramatic, but I did have 4 events on Saturday), I was blasting tunes from a CD my friend Magen made for me. She knows my love of music and makes me mix CD’s from time to time … to me, that’s love.

The CD that got me to my various destinations this weekend, and helped me clean my closet, is the soundtrack to “50 Shades of Grey.” I know many people have strong opinions about the books, movie, actors and the subject matter, but the soundtrack is amazing. New songs from Sia, The Weeknd, and Skylar Grey mesh with classic redos such as the AWOLNATION take on Springsteen’s “I’m on Fire” and “I Put a Spell on You” by the religious experience inducing Annie Lennox. And let’s not forget about Beyonce, The Rolling Stones and Frank Sinatra. Yes, even ol’ blue eyes makes an appearance.

Here is the amazing Annie Lennox singing her incredible take on the Screamin’ Jay Hawkins classic “I Put a Spell on You” to get you through your Monday. And the best part is that you don’t need a flogger, or to be tied to some sort of apparatus to enjoy this song.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Music, Music Monday, Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

