Travel: Washington, D.C.

This past weekend, my friends Magen, Mimi and I left the Queen City and headed to the nation’s capital for a weekend getaway. We had no real plans or agenda except to eat, drink and sight-see our way through town.We stayed at the amazing St. Regis and what made it even more amazing was that Drake was also staying there (Happy Birthday, Drizzy).

We saw the White House, took a tour of the Capitol, saw the monuments on the Mall, shopped in Georgetown and ate and drank our way through town. Some of our restaurant highlights included Birch & Barley (amazing beer selection), Old Ebbitt Grill (delicious drinks), Kapnos (take me back to Greece!), and Farmers Fishers Bakers (now that’s a brunch). The bar in our hotel was a nightly stop for us, as was the 6:00 p.m nightly Champagne Sabering Ritual.

The weather was perfect and it was great to go on a quick weekend getaway that included great food, friends, shopping and history (I’m a self-admitted nerd). I grew up in Virginia and it was an easy Metro ride for me to get into the District. I’ve visited as a child, a teenager, a college student, and as a college graduate. This was my first time going back as an “adult”. The city has definitely changed since I moved to Charlotte 10 years ago, but then again, I’ve changed too. It was pretty cool to walk around and have memories from when I was 10, 13, and 23 come back to me. There is a lot of history in that town, and it includes my history too. It was great to see the city doing well and I can’t wait to visit again.

IMG_4382 IMG_4386Construction was being done on the Capital dome and it was pretty impressive to watch the construction workers walking around the top. 

IMG_4402Amazing statue of Rosa Parks

IMG_4412Ceiling of the Library of Congress. The design throughout was gorgeous.

IMG_4419 IMG_4443Supreme Court

IMG_4337 (1)The White House was right behind our hotel. 

white house

IMG_4348 IMG_4355 (1)World War II Memorial

IMG_4450Showing some love for my home state at the WWII Memorial

IMG_4363 (1) IMG_4365 IMG_4341IMG_4376 (1)Cheers! Until next time, D.C.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Food, Travel, Weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel: Washington, D.C.

  1. I’m from Virginia too and it is really fun to pop up to DC for a weekend to see my folks and take in the sites! Next time you’re up there you should eat at Founding Farmers, so good.

Leave a Reply

