Taking Things for Granted …

It’s human nature to take things for granted, and I for one will admit my guilt. Sometimes the tiny dramas of the day can get magnified and make you lose sight of what is really important. Recently, I have been humbled by being selected as a 2014 STANDOUT Charlotte honoree by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. I am extremely honored to be recognized, but I’m more amazed at being able to try to help fund raise for such an amazing organization.

It wasn’t until recently that cystic fibrosis as a disease was even on my radar.  Cystic fibrosis (CF) is a life-threatening genetic disease that primarily affects the lungs and digestive system. An estimated 30,000 children and adults in the United States (70,000 worldwide) have CF. I can’t imagine what it is like to have difficulty breathing or digesting your food and I love food. I also can’t imagine what it would be like to have a life-expectancy rate assigned to me from birth.

Embarking on this journey has really taught me how much I take for granted, particularly regarding my health. As part of my honoree tasks, I have been asked to fund raise for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Currently, there is not a cure for CF and that is why fundraising for research is so vital.

I appreciate that this honor is also a challenge to me and the other honorees. I have assisted with fundraising efforts before, but never done this on my own.  It’s a great feeling to know that I may be able to make a small difference.  If you are interested in donating to help fund future research for CF, please consider donating here https://finest.cff.org/erin-maddrey-honorees-finest.

 

granted

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Giving Back, Philanthropy, Strength, Thoughtful Tuesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Things for Granted …

  1. Pingback: My experience in fundraising … | thelovelyday

Leave a Reply

