Mermaids and Music

Sometimes all you need to recharge is a quick trip to the beach and that is exactly what I did this past weekend. Being around water immediately takes me to my happy place, and I’m convinced I have some mermaid genes in my DNA makeup.

This weekend I went to Edisto Island with two amazing friends and had a blast. There were some interesting parts to our adventure, like being caught in a storm on our way down resulting in the most epic traffic jam (doubled our drive time), and then a man-of-war stinging a friend of mine while she was happily swimming in the water. Other than those little hiccups, we had a great time and no one was killed or seriously maimed. Lots of sun, relaxation and delicious meals in one of the cutest vacation spots the low country has to offer. One of the things I appreciated most was Edisto Island’s commitment to conservation, particularly the turtles that nest along the shore.  Through the state park, we took a turtle education class and then went out at night on a turtle walk in hopes of seeing nesting mommies, or hatched babies making the mad dash to the ocean. We did not see turtles this time, but we saw other cool creatures and learned a lot in the process.

photo 1 (5)

photo 2 photo 3 (2)

photo 4

photo 3

photo 1 (2)

IMG_3908 (1)

IMG_4913

photo 4 (5)

Hello creepy ghost crab. We had to use red lights to not disturb the turtles.

photo 5 (2)

I had to take a picture (I hate selfies) and show off my beachy hair that I’m loving/rocking in the office today.

Now this mermaid is landlocked once again, but I’ve had an exceptionally great Monday so far and  I have no complaints. Another reason I’m not complaining is because of some amazing music I’ve discovered recently. I’ve been a fan of Skylar Grey for years (when she was going by Holly Brook), but recently I discovered her song “Words I Never Said.” It is beautiful and haunting and is a reminder to never take anything or anyone for granted.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Music, Music Monday, Travel, Weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mermaids and Music

  1. Jatin Adlakha says:

    Wow, the pixs looks beautiful, and the hair, of course too! Trips and tours always have a way to energise and freshen you up that even doleful Mondays become bearable!

Leave a Reply

