Push Yourself

sweat-is-fat-cryingThe past few years have included times of extreme highs and extreme lows, but I embrace all of those moments as they have led me to where I am now. I love where I am now, but I am a person that does not like to be complacent or stay comfortable for too long. This need to challenge myself extends to all parts of my life, but for this particular post, I’m going to touch on ways I like to challenge myself physically.

Last year, I discovered running and completed my first 5K as a birthday present to myself. I absolutely loved the feeling of accomplishment and triumph that washed over me as I crossed the finish line. I love crushing goals and pushing myself to and exceeding new limits.  

This week, I found a new challenge and rediscovered one of my favorites.  In the past few months, I have focused on weights and cardio, but I knew I needed to switch things up a bit. Thanks to my friend, Magen, this week I finally tried Flywheel. I had heard such good things about the workout, and I’m so glad I went. The music was great, the instructor (Denise) was amazing and I left a sweaty happy mess. I will definitely be going back.

I also rediscovered one of my favorite workouts and studios in Charlotte, Carolina Barre & Core. I absolutely love the workouts and the instructors. I had been going regularly a few months back, but just let life get in the way. No excuses, especially since I love the workouts. I forgot about the infamous “shake” that occurs during these classes. When your body shakes, you are exhausting muscle and forcing it to tone, so embrace the shake!

I’m always looking for a new way to challenge myself, so let me know if you have any suggestions!

 

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running, Strength and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Push Yourself

  1. Heidi says:

    Two of my favorite workouts. Denise is the best Flywheel instructor, I think! Yay for you!!

Leave a Reply

