Music Monday: Banks

This past weekend was full of down time, fun catch up sessions with friends and a culinary tribute to the countries participating in the World Cup. Saturday I attended a World Cup party hosted by one of the most culinary and soccer savvy couples I’ve ever met. The party consisted of watching the games, and, most importantly, eating dishes inspired by the 32 countries participating in the World Cup. One of my favorites was a Cameroon inspired beef dish … wow.  Then I went to see The Fault in Our Stars. I had read the book, so I was somewhat prepared, but my friend and I still cried our eyes out.

Sunday night I went to see the Charlotte Symphony’s Pops in the Park.  I hadn’t been in years and it was a great night for amazing music and a picnic of wine, dessert and Doritos. If you haven’t tried Cake in a Jar by The Secret Chocolatier, stop what you are doing immediately and get one.

One of my other favorite things about this weekend was having down time to listen to new music. Although, I’ve been listening to Banks for awhile, I’ve had a rediscovery moment with her. Seriously, if you don’t know her work, get to know her work. Her songs are awesome and some of the covers she has done, I love her version of Aaliyah’s “Are You That Somebody,” are just sick.  Here is her song “Waiting Game”. Enjoy!

 

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Music, Music Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

