That Time I Went to Atlanta …

photo 3

This past weekend was absolutely one for the books.  My dear friend, Magen, and I took a quick road trip to Atlanta to see one of my favorite bands, Haim.  Since the tickets were a great price, we decided to splurge a bit on our hotel. We stayed at the St. Regis Atlanta in Buckhead and we were even upgraded!  The hotel was amazing and it reminded me of the Eloise books I loved when I was little (seriously, I wanted to move in and become a permanent resident at the St. Regis).

The concert was incredible. The Haim sisters are so talented and they gave the audience their all. I cannot say enough about the performance and I look forward to seeing them again. The concert was at the Tabernacle, a former Baptist Church and now one of my favorite music venues (such a cool place). After the concert, we decided to ride the Sky View, a ferris wheel 20 stories high, that is outside of Centennial Park.  Magen played music from her phone and for 20 minutes we had amazing views of the city all while saying “I can’t believe we are riding a ferris wheel.”

That night, we crashed hard after being greeted by soft lighting, music playing, the softest slippers ever (I may or may not be wearing them right now), chocolates and turn down service in our hotel room.  The next morning we had the most amazing breakfast at the hotel.  I wanted to take photos, but I ate mine too fast. I had Butter Pecan Buttermilk Pancakes, which smelled like a fresh glazed donut. Trust me, it was amazing. Next it was time to take advantage of the pool and our late check out.  I rocked SPF 50 and we proceeded to lounge for hours by the amazing pool and partake in the excellent pool service/bar.  My favorite drink was the Madeline (skinny vodka, coconut water, fresh strawberries and bananas).

We left the pool and headed back to Charlotte after an amazing time in Atlanta. We decided, if only for 24 hours, we were SheShe. It’s fun to be fancy every once in a while.

photo 1 (2) photo 1

photo 3 photo 5 photo 2 (2) photo 3 (2) photo 1photo 2done dogSmitty had an epic weekend too, apparently.

 

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Music, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

