Music Monday: Johnny Cash

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend!  My parents were here this weekend, and we had an amazing time together. I’m convinced my parents are the most hysterical people I know. They are such a great team and it’s inspiring to see, not to mention entertaining too!

We had a weekend that was both relaxing and productive.  My mom and I went to the Lights! Camera! Fashion! fashion show presented by the Junior League of Charlotte and hosted by Belk. My dad helped me fix a few things around the condo and the three of us spent almost 4 hours cleaning out my storage unit.  If anyone needs art work, holiday decorations (including a 4 foot Christmas tree), toys, etc. please go to the Junior League WearHouse.  We donated two huge SUV-filled loads there this weekend.

One of my favorite moments from the weekend was sitting down with my parents and Smitty to watch a very family friendly movie called The Hangover Part 3. If you know me and my family, this movie choice should not surprise you at all. While watching this theatrical masterpiece, we heard the song “Hurt” by Trent Reznor/Nine Inch Nails. My dad and I started discussing which version of this song was better, the version by Trent or the version by Johnny Cash.  We agreed that Johnny’s version was so emotional and raw that it was our preferred version. Trent wrote an awesome song and I am a fan of his, but there is nothing like the Man in Black.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Music, Music Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

