A little patience …

Ever since I was little, I heard the phrase “patience is a virtue” repeated over and over again. I will be completely honest when I say that patience is not one of my strong suits. I tend to want what I want at that moment.  It doesn’t matter if my object of desire is a dessert, a job, a guy, or a piece of clothing.  I’ve never been big on waiting.

The older I get, the more I realize the importance of having a certain level of patience. This past year I have also learned that the saying “it’ll all work out the way it is supposed to” is true. Instead of jumping in feet first, I try (it’s a struggle) to take a moment to think things through and reflect on the decision I’m about to make.  I’m embracing my inner tortoise and realizing that charging through or towards something is not always the best idea.

So take a breath, take a walk or just take a moment before jumping into something that may not necessarily be the best thing for you. As the fable of the tortoise and the hare taught us, it’s not always how fast you race towards the finish line, but how you get there that counts the most.

Since this post got the song “Patience” by Guns N’ Roses stuck in my head, I thought I would include the song so it’s in your head too 🙂

 

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Musings, Thoughtful Tuesdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

