Back to the Basics

Rainbow at the beach

Last week I was on vacation with my family and it was a much needed week of relaxation, fun and reflection. After a rather crazy year, it was so special to get to be in one space with my favorite people.

I moved away from Virginia, my home state, over 9 years ago. I love my new state of North Carolina, but Virginia will always have my heart. It was great to go back to Virginia for a week with my family, but most importantly, it was a reminder of where I come from and who I am at the core.

I was reminded that I love the beach, playing in a pool, seeing dolphins, taking naps after a long day in the sun, and laughing with my family.  It was a time (and it definitely was time) for me to get back to the basics of what makes me “me”.

This past week I learned that sometimes to find ourselves, we don’t need to run away, but rather we need to go home.

Daddy fishing

Daddy fishingDead skate ... sorry lil' guyDead skate … sorry lil’ guyMy Little Ponies making a comeback and my niece loves them as much as I did at her ageMy Little Ponies making a comeback and my niece loves them as much as I did at her ageLove these twoLove these two

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Tuesdays, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

