When One Door Closes …

Tomorrow photo

Today marks a crossroad between my past and my future. It has been a year and a day since I separated from my husband. Today is the day we file all of our paperwork to formally divorce. It has been a year of highs and lows, but it has definitely been a year of growth.

I would like to take a moment to say thank you to my wonderful family, friends, co-workers and strangers that made this year so positive. I never imagined when this year began that I would have so many wonderful moments, or that this year would be a tremendous growth year.

I’m not gonna lie, there were many tough times too, but I refused to let them keep me down for too long. People have the ability to make choices, and that is what makes us flawed, resilient and fascinating at the same time. Many times I made the choice to stop crying, to call a friend/family member, to cuddle my dog and to pick myself up off the ground.

This post is my sincere thank you to all the amazing people in my life. My cup runneth over.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Flying Solo, Strength, Thoughtful Tuesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When One Door Closes …

  1. Heidi says:

    You are amazing! You’ve been an incredible source of motivation and inspiration for so many other people. The few personal encounters we’ve had, in addition to your lovely writing, always make me think and make me happy. I am glad that you’ve had such a wonderful support network to help you through such a challenging time.

Leave a Reply

