Dessert before dinner …

cupcake

Tomorrow is not promised and the past cannot be changed therefore live each day to the fullest and know that every new day is a blessing.

With everything that happened last week in Boston and in Texas, I was trying to think of what to say for this week’s Thoughtful Tuesday post. I didn’t want to seem cheesy or overly saccharine about the events that unfolded. It wasn’t until this past weekend and today that I knew what I wanted to say.  I found the above quote online by accident and it fit in with my planned post perfectly.

As the events of last week unfolded, we once again saw that evil exists in the world, but so does true goodness. We witnessed many give blood, shelter, support and aide to strangers in need. Events like this remind me that nothing in life is guaranteed; we’re not guaranteed the white picket fence, the dream job, or that we will live until we are 100.

During a dinner with friends this weekend, a friend mentioned that she would never stand near a finish line of a race after the Boston Marathon attack. That conversation made me think that if we let every awful act affect how we live then we would never truly live. We would never fly, take a train, work in a tall building, etc. The list goes on and on and let’s not start on possible natural disasters, etc.

I graduated from Virginia Tech in 2003 and I am still in shock that a mass shooting occurred there years later. After the shootings, I remember hearing people say, “I’ll never send my kid there” and other statements of that nature. I can’t imagine what my life would have been like if I hadn’t gone to Virginia Tech. The friends I met and the experiences I had shaped my life in so many ways.  It’s not the school, the finish line, or the airplane that make people do certain things.

We tend to try to find meaning and to try and place blame when we don’t understand why something happened.  We should live our lives to the best of our ability and not be worried about things we have no control over. I know that is probably easier said than done, but it’s true. If we spent our lives afraid of the unknown, we would never leave our homes.

It’s sad that moments of terror make us remember what’s important to us or that we should be kind to our fellow man. I’m going to challenge myself to say something kind to a stranger, to let those I love know it, and if I want to, I’m going to have dessert before dinner. Like I said nothing is guaranteed in life and I hope you live to the fullest, bravest and best of your ability.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Tuesdays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

