A game plan …

A few months back, I moved into a one bedroom condo and I absolutely love it.  Going from a four bedroom house to a one bedroom condo was a slightly intimidating, but mostly exciting experience.

This marked the first time that I have lived on my own and the first time that I could decorate a place without feedback from anyone. It would be exclusively my style.  But what did that mean?  I spent the better part of a decade living with my now ex and combining our two styles. What would it mean to decorate in my own style?

I knew I needed to find my decorating style before I purchased random furniture or knick-knacks impulsively.  A plan of attack was needed.

The first step on my strategic decorating style quest was to go to Pinterest and look at my Home Decor Board.  Going through my images, I realized that I like very clean, modern basics when it comes to furniture, but I like colored accents, art and some quirk to punch it up a bit.

The second step on my quest was to find furniture pieces that made me happy, but didn’t break the bank.  It’s still a process, but I have had to learn to depend on myself and my solo income. Thank goodness for IKEA.  That is pretty much where I bought all of my furniture items, including my bed and mattress (I didn’t bring any furniture except for a few items from my house).

The third step was to incorporate color and things that I loved into my space. The living room/kitchen is gray, white and black with pops of green, including my beloved emerald green couch (I call him Karl). My bedroom is gray, black and white with pops of purple and pink. I’ve incorporate color, but also pieces that I love, photos of friends and family, antlers from my dad, books and special momentoes.

The process is still ongoing, but here are some photos of my place. I’ll have better ones up in the coming weeks.  I’m still on the hunt for a vintage bar cart and I need to add more photos and art to my walls.  I’m excited to explore some of the art galleries around Charlotte as I would like to incorporate one-of-a-kind pieces into my scheme. It’s been so great to find my decorating style in the past few months and I look forward to its continuing evolution.

bedroom curtains couch kitchen audrey living room with curtains

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Decorating, Flying Solo, Style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A game plan …

  1. Kelly Hughes says:

    Looks great, honey! I completely appreciate you wanting to incorporate one-of-a-kind pieces into your new dig but if you’re feeling overwhelmed or frustrated, check out World Market for vintage bar carts. I love love love this one: http://www.worldmarket.com/product/metal+bexley+bar.do?&from=fn. Little pricey for my budget though 🙂 This one is great too: http://www.worldmarket.com/product/jackson-kitchen-cart.do?sortby=ourPicksAscend&page=3. Happy decorating! Excited for you and this new phase of your life. xoxo

Leave a Reply

