Party Time …

A new year brings new opportunities for celebrating with friends. I love hosting parties and my new place is perfect for intimate gatherings. An open floor plan makes such a difference. I’ve planned many events for work, for my friends and for myself. I thought I would share a few of my tricks/tips on how to keep things as stress free as possible.

party time

Pick a theme and carry it through …

What is the purpose of the party? Is it a random get together or is there a specific purpose. For instance, recently I hosted a Stella & Dot party where my friend, Kristin, was a fantastic consultant. I decide to make the theme girly since we would be looking at fantastic jewelry, so a night of Baubles & Bubbly was born.  My place was decorated with jewelry and I had multiple bottles of sparkling wine and bubbly ready for my guests.

Food for thought …

When planning an event, it is important to pick the right food. For this event, I decided to have cupcakes. The party was more of a drop in event, so if I had too much food on hand, most of it would have gone to waste. The cupcakes added to the theme and I ordered them ahead of time from a local bakery. Ordering them ahead of time definitely took some stress off of me, and meant that I didn’t have to clean up a mess in my kitchen.

cupcakes

Tricks of the trade …

I love when people come in to my place and are greeted by a delicious smell. My trick is to get fresh flowers and have them throughout my place. Hydrangeas are so pretty in a simple vase, but my go to flower is the hyacinth for fragrance. Hyacinth can be a strong smell, so I think a little bit can go a long way. I also leave the flowers in one place for a period of time and then switch them to another spot. This helps circulate the smell and prevents one spot from becoming too strong fragrance wise.

hyacinth

hydrangea

Let’s be honest, a party is fabulous, but the clean up after … not so much. My trick is to get champagne flutes from the dollar store. They are cute, hard to break and can be thrown out after a party. Since I did plastic glassware, I opted to have China dessert plates out for the cupcakes. I like the high/low transition between dollar store flutes and nice dessert plates, and so does Smitty.


glass and smitt

The most important component to having a successful party is being a good host. If not everyone knows each other, it’s your job to introduce folks and to make everyone feel welcome.

Those are just some of my tricks for hosting a fun, easy and relatively stress free party.

Do you have any go-to tricks when hosting a party?

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Food, Gatherings, Party Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

