Divorcee Playlist …

candle

During the past few months, people have asked me how I can still be a positive person even though I am going through a separation and an upcoming divorce.  Truthfully, that’s just me.  I tend to be an optimistic person, but that does not mean that I haven’t experienced sadness or dark moments. Divorce is not glamorous or fun by any means.  It is a constantly trying process and you can easily become bitter with the world, and that is okay as long as you don’t let it consume you.  You have to go through all the emotions that come with such a change – the good, the bad and the ugly.

I have always gotten through things with the love and support of family and friends, copious amounts of wine, and movies and music that speak to me.  A dear friend of mine made me a mix CD recently with songs that were empowering, fun and indicative of this time in my life.  That gift got me thinking about the songs that have gotten me through the past 8 months.  Some are sad, some are strong and some are just plain fun.

Here is what this divorcee has been listening to …

The Divorcee Playlist:
Wide Awake – Katy Perry
To the World – Kanye West featuring R. Kelly
I Can’t Make You Love Me/Nick of Time – Bon Iver
Anything Can Happen – Ellie Goulding
What Now – Rihanna
Creepin – Eric Church
Try – Pink
Something ‘Bout a Truck – Kip Moore
Catch My Breath – Kelly Clarkson
Heart Skipped a Beat – The XX
Stars – Grace Potter & the Nocturnals
Rolling in the Deep – Adele
Better Dig Two – The Band Perry
Stubborn Love – The Lumineers
Every Storm – Gary Allan
All I’ve Ever Needed – Paul McDonald and Nikki Reed
Hank It – Justin Moore
Love U More (RAC Mix) – Sunday Girl
Dancing on My Own – Robyn
Hell on Heels – Pistol Annies

Has there been a song that’s gotten you through a tough time in your life? Or one that just moves you every time you hear it?

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Flying Solo, Music, Musings, Strength and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Divorcee Playlist …

  1. Joe Anderson says:

    Totally out of the genre, but Bloodclot by Rancid has a few great lines about picking back up and starting all over again, and I’ve had to listen to it more than a few times.

  2. Arina says:

    I played the heck out of my Positivity Playlist when i was going through my divorce. Cheesy upbeat song? You bet it was on there!

  3. chrissyhf says:

    For some reason I really like the word Divorcee. And Taylor Swift.

  4. candidkay says:

    Wide Awake is on mine too. And What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger. Also, You Don’t Know a Thing About Me. I guess Kelly Clarkson just gets it:)

Leave a Reply

