Did that really just happen?

Since my name is Erin you can certainly infer that I am a fan of St. Patty’s Day.  Well, I have a tendency to stumble into some unique situations during the Day of Saint Patrick. Past gems have included blurry bar crawls, drag queens on stilts and my best Riverdance moves as I tried to convince people I was from Ireland.  To continue the tradition, I think it is only fitting that I share my unique St. Patty’s Day story from this weekend.

Yes, I wore green and beer was certainly involved, but I did not think my day would also include flashers and folks songs about bestiality.   I’m sure that caught your attention, but I should back up a bit to properly tell this tale.

Not only was this weekend St. Patty’s Day, but it was also the start of Charlotte Craft Beer Week.  The hubby and I do enjoy craft beer, him more so than me, so we decided to participate in one of the events on St. Patty’s Day.  We went to a local brewery for a day of beer tastings, bands and food.  Well, when we got there, we knew we had stumbled upon something … special.  All of the men there were in green dresses and the women were wearing next to nothing.  Needless to say the hubby and I felt a bit under, or in my case, overdressed for the event.

We learned that this unique crew of about 50 or so folks are part of a group called Hash House Harriers, or Hashers as they referred to themselves.   We were curious, so we talked to them about their organization that they introduced as a “group of drinkers with a running problem.”   From what we learned, the main goal of this group is to drink as much as possible and to “compete” in a scavenger hunt of sorts.  My husband was then offered a lovely green dress that would have certainly brought out his eyes, but politely turned it down once we realized their beer selections were crap and that we would have to run through the woods.

During the course of the next hour, we watched our new friends flash each other (and us) sing songs about bestiality involving horses and ducks, and a great little ditty about virgins, as well as write hilariously inappropriate messages on cars (until they wrote on ours -not so funny then).   At one point, my hubby and I thought we may have been propositioned for a unique sexual encounter, but now I think they were literally just talking about “running the course”.

Eventually it was time for our new friends to leave on their quest. We wished them well on their run and continued to drink and listen to more PETA friendly music.

So how was your St. Patty’s Day?

Before I forget, today marked the twenty-second day of my thirty day bag-a-day challenge.  Since I last wrote, I have collected 4 bags of donations, 1 bag of trash from cleaning out my office, 1 bike and 1 electric lawnmower.  I am now up to 22 bags/boxes/large ticket items for donation.  Tomorrow a local non-profit will come to collect some of my bags and large items.  I’ve tried to divide my donations between a few charities in the Charlotte area as a way to spread the love.  I’m pretty proud of myself, I must say.

Up to 22 bags/boxes/large donation items - 8 more to go

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Bag-a-day Challenge, Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did that really just happen?

  1. “Flashers and folks songs about bestiality. “

    Hm. I guess the Charlotte craft beer scene helps the city live up to its name – Queen City. 🙂
    I’m planning a trip this summer to Charlotte. Guess I need to dress appropriately. LOL

    Cheers!

    David Ivey
    BlackBucketBrew.com Inbox Magazine Editor

    PS. Check out our free e-book and beer mag.

Leave a Reply

