Catching Up and a DIY Project

I may have been slacking on my blog posts, but I have not been slacking on my bag-a-day challenge.  My family was in town for the past few days, but I still found time to bag.  Bags four, five, six, seven and eight consisted of two bags of trash and three bags of items that will be donated to charity.  The donation bags consisted of clothes, shoes, purses and books.

Bags #4, 5, 6, 7 and 8

Things are still going well, but I noticed that bag number eight was the hardest one for me so far.   I went back and forth on a few items, but ultimately decided that if I considered bagging an item, it was time to say goodbye.

Although the bag-a-day project is interesting, I wanted to share something fun that I worked on this weekend.  My parents and I worked together on a DIY project involving deer antlers and a silk flower.  Intrigued yet?

Going back to my obsession with Pinterest, I decided to try my hand at recreating a photograph I pinned here.   I thought this photo was so cool, and I knew just the man to call to get antlers.  My Dad has been a hunter for numerous years and I think he got a kick out of my call.  Another bonus was that the antlers were already mounted on a wood backing.

Inspiration

Antlers in hand, I went to Michael’s, my local craft store, and picked up a silk flower and some wire.  In a matter of minutes, I had my own antler art and helped my mom by getting the antlers out of her house.  Dad gave me another set of antlers that I plan to dress up, but this time with a different color flower.

Antlers with Flowers

Until tomorrow . . .

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Bag-a-day Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

