A Weekend Getaway

I love to travel.  One of my favorite things to do is to see/explore new places.  This past weekend, my husband and I took a trip to a not so new place, but still one not completely familiar to me.  Ever since we went to Napa (here), we have had Georgia Virginia on our minds.  I know this sounds like an odd statement.  How do you think of Virginia when you are in California?  Well, it’s easier than you think.  Yes, Virginia has vineyards and delicious wine, but that’s not what stuck with us. One of the wineries we went to in Napa was the Monticello Vineyards complete with a replica of Monticello, Thomas Jefferson’s home in Virginia.  I mentioned to my husband that even though I had lived in Virgina for the first 24 years of my life, I had never been to Monticello.  He said he hadn’t been since he was little and it was in that moment that an idea for a weekend getaway was planted.

My husband grew up near Charlottesville, Virginia in a town named Crozet.  He hadn’t been back there in years, so this trip also had a bit of nostalgia to it.  Our weekend away was great even if the weather wasn’t.  We had grey skies and a warm mist that made my hair frizz (not my best look).  Although the weather didn’t cooperate, Charlottesville was still gorgeous and we had a great time.

We kicked off our weekend by touring around Crozet, Ivy and White Hall.  In Crozet, I was able to see where my husband grew up, including his former home, high school and bike paths that he would take around town.  We met up with family friends and went to dinner at Pesto Mediterranean Grill.  The next day we woke bright and early to go to Monticello.  Although the weather was gloomy, I thought it was a beautiful place.  There was an eery feel as the fog descended on the gardens, but I thought the grey gloom added to the elegance of the property.

Next, we were off to the Downtown Mall for lunch at Cinema Taco and to browse the shops.  I love going into used book stores and the one I went into did not disappoint.  I purchased a copy of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien for $1 (I love a deal).   The best part of the purchase, besides the actual book, was the inscription.  It was from December 1966.  A gift from friends or family to someone with a sense of adventure.

Later we met up with great friends at Blenheim Vineyards, owned by famous C-ville resident Dave Matthews (no, they did not play his music there), for a wine tasting.   After sampling delicious wine and catching up, we went to the Jefferson Vineyards for another tasting.  The Jefferson wines were fine, but I enjoyed Blenheim more.  To end the day, our friends made reservations at a restaurant called The Local.  All I can say is that dinner was delicious and I would love to go back.

Our trip was short and sweet, but sometimes it’s just nice to get away.

Hello, Mr. Jefferson (love the detail of the eyes)

Love the contrast between the color of this flower in the garden and the gloomy fog surrounding the property.

May the hair on your feet grow even longer - Dec. 25, 1966

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

