Erin Go Braugh!

As a child, St. Patrick’s Day was one of my favorite days.  It wasn’t because of the color green, or the history of Saint Patrick.  No, it was because for one month my name was everywhere.  Erin Go Braugh (Ireland Forever) was prominently featured on buttons, shirts and mugs.  I remember thinking this Patrick kid had great taste because, obviously, he liked my name.

Now that I am older, and hopefully a little wiser, I know that the holiday is not about me or the other lasses throughout the world named Erin.  It’s a day to celebrate St. Patrick and all he did for the Irish people, but mostly it is a day to wear green and pretend you are Irish.  I wonder what ol’ St. Pat would think about green beer?

In honor of today, I wanted to share some of my favorite ways to celebrate the “We’re all Irish today” holiday of St. Patty’s Day.

Delicious cupcakes courtesy of Martha Stewart Living.

In the immortal words of Homer Simpson, "Mmmm, beer"

Good Leprechaun (sorry I ate your lucky charms)

Bad Leprechaun, but entertaining movie 🙂

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

