A Food Revolution of Sorts . . .

In January, I was fortunate enough to have an article I wrote regarding my Thirty and Fabulous Manifesto (I do so enjoy that word) published in The Charlotte Observer. I was grateful for the support and feedback I received from my public declaration of ways to make my thirties better than my twenties.  So now that my goals have been made public, I have been getting a lot of questions regarding how I’m doing so far on my list.

First, a recap of my goals:

  1. To be physically healthy.  The goal is not to lose weight, but to instead form a good gym habit and to not be as sporadic as I had been in my twenties.
  2. To cook for myself and my husband more and to be more aware of what I am eating.
  3. To floss more regularly.  These are the only chompers that I am ever going to have and I need to realize that floss is not the enemy.
  4. To give of myself more to others in need.  I have been very fortunate in my life and it is only fair to pay it forward.
  5. To continue to nurture relationships that are dear to me.
  6. To understand that laugh lines and wrinkles are evidence of a good life.
  7. To take better overall care of my house, whether it is by landscaping, organizing, or rearranging furniture.  It was an honor to purchase it and I need to treat it as such.
  8. To not be afraid to take risks.
  9. To have a sense of humor and to not be afraid of the possibility of embarrassment.
  10. To learn to fold fitted sheets properly.

I will say that I feel like I have attempted to do something for each of these goals over the past few months, but I have mainly focused on goals 1 and 2.

I have joined a more economically friendly gym and have been going regularly (we won’t talk about how sore my abs are today).  Although I am proud of myself for that, I am extremely proud of my improved eating habits.  I’ve been reading various books and articles about healthy eating in my effort to become more informed and I am pleased at the results.  I have discovered new foods and recipes that I adore (hello, brussel sprouts and kale).

Some of the books I am reading are listed below.  I recommend them to anyone curious about nutrition and where our food comes from (regardless of your eating preference).  So far on this nutritional journey, I realized that I am predominately vegetarian with a hall pass for meat a few times a month.

I hope you are having a lovely day!

Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma

Kathy Freston's Veganist

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

