My Word for 2014 …

2516627_10396443-prn01_lz

Recently, some of my friends were discussing their word for 2014. Instead of making resolutions, they pick a word that reflects how they want their year to go and what they want to experience/learn in the new year. This intrigued me and I started wondering what my word would be for 2014.

Words such as trust, faith, open, fun, adventure came to mind immediately, but none of them felt right. I wanted all of them, but that would defeat the purpose of having a word. Then a few weeks ago, I was getting my hair done and my stylist gave me my word. She reminded me that 2014 was the first year in a long time that I wasn’t defined by words like married, separated or divorced. I was finally just me, just Erin. My word for 2014 is Erin.

This is my year to just be me and to figure things out for myself. I was in survival mode for so long and now I’m just excited to be and to experience life without anything in my peripheral vision. Nothing but me now and that is exhilarating and scary at the same time.  Cheers to the adventures and lessons ahead.

About thelovelyday

writer | traveler | lover of food, music, and a good drink
This entry was posted in Flying Solo, Musings, Strength, Thoughtful Tuesdays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Word for 2014 …

  1. Pingback: So Long and Farewell to 2014 | thelovelyday

Leave a comment