No Excuses

As I previously mentioned here, I’ve started running, or at least my version of running, with the goal of completing a 5K in the Fall. I am going to run the entire thing without stopping or walking (notice that I said ‘am’ and not ‘try’). Well, happy news, I’ve officially registered for the Thunder Road 5K on November 16. Ahhh – it’s official!

So far on this journey, I’ve learned some really valuable lessons. First, it’s good to ask for help.  I recently went to a local Run for Your Life store and was fitted for a pair of running shoes. I had no idea until I met with the experts that I was wearing a size too small! No wonder my toes hurt after each run. I also had a friend talk with me about my strides and breathing.  Accepting help and advice is tough for me as I try to do everything myself (I’m stubborn).  Sometimes it is better to be the student.

photo 1Love my new shoes!

Second, I learned that I am capable of things I didn’t think possible.  For so long I used words like “can’t” to second guess myself. Now I realize that I can do things I didn’t think possible. It’s all about setting a goal, getting the negative thoughts out of your head and putting one foot in front of the other. No excuses because excuses just hold you back from realizing your full potential.

Third, I learned that you can go out and buy cute outfits to run in. Hey, you’re sweating your proverbial balls off, so you might as well look cute while doing it. I’ll take inspiration in any form I can get, and new clothes are a nice touch. Even Smitty is excited about my new running clothes.

photo 2

And the journey continues …

About thelovelyday

writer, traveler, event planner/pr professional and fan of all things fabulous.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Strength and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Excuses

  1. Emily says:

    Good luck, Erin! Running is a wonderful thing….

  2. Terese says:

    I started running in January and it was a baby step each week – literally 1 min of running then like 4 mins walking for 30 minutes all the way until I could run without stopping a 5K. It worked! I completed my first race in April and it felt awesome. Good luck! You’ve totally got this!

  3. john says:

    We missed you on the Cross Country team in high school, but so glad to hear you discovered running eventually. I’m happy to give any advice you don’t want. I’ve been a high school assistant coach for 5 years now. (Last year’s Boys AND Girls State Catholic Champs!) It’s a passion of mine and “runs” in my family. Good luck Erin. Go Erin Go!

  4. I love this post! All these things that you have learned such as getting the word can’t out of your vocabulary and not letting excuses get the best of you reminds me of when I came to this same realization about a year ago. You are so right! We can do so much more than we ever thought possible. I never thought I would be able to run a mile without stopping let alone a 5k or a 10k etc. and here I am a year later after I just completed my 1st half-marathon! I’ve learned not to put any limits on my running goals such as speed and distance because I have realized that those limits only hold me back from my true potential. I think that it is great that you have taken up running and are doing so well. Good luck to you on your 5K in November! Once you achieve your goals, I encourage you to keep setting new ones. You will amaze yourself. I know I have! :) I look forward to reading your future posts about your progress. Way to go! :)

Leave a Reply

