Eat in Month …

I hope your 2013 has started on a great note.  My start has been a little different than planned as I have been sick for the past few days, but, thankfully, I’m on the mend.  Other than being sick, my 2013 has started well.  I wore this gorgeous dress for New Year’s Eve and enjoyed drinking bubbly with friends while ringing in 2013.

This year I am trying not to make resolutions, but to instead make challenges.  I am trying to challenge myself each month to do something different.  For January, I am participating in Eat in Month, which the fabulous Diana introduced me to a few weeks back.  The goal of Eat in Month is to eat every meal “in” and to save money and eat healthy meals.

Since I’ve been sick, I haven’t had the opportunity to make to many elaborate meals yet. One thing I have made was a fantastic salad.  I am very picky when it comes to salads. Here is a quick and easy salad recipe that made me almost lick my plate.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bag of Mixed Spring Greens
  • 2 Avocados diced
  • Bacon (I used 4 strips and Hickory Smoked Bacon)
  • Strawberries
  • Cheese for grating (I used Pecorino Romano)
  • Shrimp (deveined)
  • Maple Syrup

First step was to cook the bacon until almost burnt (the goal is to get it really crispy).  I set the cooked bacon to the side, but left the grease in the pan (I am from the South).

bacon and nails

sizzling bacon

Next I added the shrimp and cooked them in the hickory flavored grease.  While the shrimp were cooking, I cut up the strawberries and the avocados.

shrimp

I mixed the strawberries, avocados and mixed greens in a large bowl.  Next, I crumbled the bacon into little bits and sprinkled the bits on the salad.

salad bettersalad
After the shrimp were cooked, I added them to the salad and reserved the grease and drippings (again, Southern).

After the grease cooled, I added the drippings to a measuring cup and then mixed in salt, pepper and maple syrup to make a homemade dressing.  I don’t have exact measurements for this because I did it by taste.

Once the dressing was up to my standards, I added that to the bowl and mixed everything up with a sprinkle of cheese.

bon appetite

This was absolutely delicious.  The one thing I would do differently would be to add pine nuts.

Looking forward to my next creation for Eat in Month.

About thelovelyday

writer, traveler, event planner/pr professional and fan of all things fabulous.
This entry was posted in Eat in Month, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eat in Month …

  1. Pingback: February Challenge: Shop Your Closet … | thelovelyday

Leave a Reply

